The Mind of a Poet

February 26, 2010 at 5:27 pm (The Mind of a Poet) (, , )

In much of his work, the poet Wallace Stevens discusses the process of finding what will suffice.  While, in general, he is discussing the poetic process–the process of signification and making meaning–he is also referring to life as a process of making meaning.  He, and most poets worth reading, speak of writing as seeking the word, image, metaphor and/or other signifier that will suffice.  From Yeats or Blake, to Rich or Lorde, all poets discuss this process in a way that is a type of objective correlative for our daily lives.  As we make meaning in and of our lives, are we not seeking what will suffice?  This is a universal thing for poets and other humans.  [Other humans being those of us not driven to poetry which Robert Frost described as a “condition” rather than a profession. *smile*] Good, effective poetry achieves not only what will suffice, but does so in a way that is accessible:  a way that takes what is universal and makes it available for us to process, reaches across our differences and unites us and lifts us up.  In poetry, and in life, if we are attentive in our seeking–and if we are lucky–we find not only what will suffice, but what is more than sufficient.  The making of meaning, I believe, is particularly essential for those of us whose lives have been difficult in regard to feeling part of the commonality of human experience.  Perhaps, this is why I love poetry–the hope of making the common and the uncommon universally accessible.  These are the kinds of thoughts you will find in this category.  As well as a poem or two…or more.  This week’s offering:

I must say that, in my life [at least], I have been blessed to find, now and then, what is sufficient.  The reunion with Scintillectual, however, is one of those rare offerings from the benevolent universe–and ourselves [we could have rejected it]–that is so much more than sufficient.  This is one of my recent poems to her.

Raise Up Your Face

Raise up your face to me

that I may trace your cheek

with mine, brush my lips to yours.

Lift your eyes to mine that you

may feel my longing like dry

leaves, like hungry roots in need

of rain.

Raise up your neck to me

that I may kiss, there, the place

that makes you tremble in my arms.

Wrap your arms around my

shoulders that I may lower you

down, hold you close to my

body entire.

Raise up your breasts to me,

your mouth, your belly; open

yourself to me that I may taste

the sweet warmth of our reunion

and linger—a road weary traveler

gone too long, but now is home

at last.

Raise up your hips to me

that I may touch you, enter

that dark vestibule where all is

light, where the profane becomes

sacred—that place where all you

offer glistens clear, nurturing all

our wanting.

Raise up your face to me

that I may look at you and you

may see me, that we may move

together in the quiet where only we

exist.  Raise up to me your fears, your

doubts, that I may take them with care

and lift you up.  

Lift up your eyes to mine

that we may look into the night

where the we becomes one shining

light. Raise up your self to me

that we may rise and fall like rain

pouring down at last on dry,

hungry leaves.

NOTE:  This work is published here as proprietary and may not be reproduced, distributed, sold, or otherwise utilized outside the posting on this site without the express permission of the author; these works are the sole property of the author writing as Androgynonamous or DreadPirateRobert.

6 Comments

  1. Scintillectual said,

    Oh my darling…I was already wet from our phone conversation (the lights/the box…clearly it doesn’t take much these days…simply to hear you breathe) and now I have this. Your brilliance, talent, and creativity astounds me. Never in my life did I think I would find someone so intelligent and so fucking hot. You make me crazy with desire.

    Thank you, for this, as for the other poems you have written for me, about me. I would love to be your muse until the end of days. Sweet baby boi, you do indeed raise me up.

    • androgynonamous said,

      My sweet, sugar: you are and will be my muse until the end of our days. While we are on the subject: your smarts make me as hot as your laughter, your breathing, your face, your mouth, your…well…you know what I’m thinking of, I’m sure. Seriously, I never thought–as you know–I would find what we have in regard to our intellectual connection, let alone the humor, music, movies, etc. [As it was in college, nothing compares.] I am so glad we are here now, sharing all we share.

  2. Femme Fairy Godmother said,

    Everything I read of yours, everything I learn about you, makes me more grateful every day that my beautiful friend has found someone who can recognize her fierceness and love her well. I love you for that alone. This was excellent.

    • androgynonamous said,

      Thank you so much. I must say, I love you for essentially the same reasons–our girl is something else, is she not? It thrills me to no end she has a friend who sees her and loves her as I do…well, not exactly as I do. But, you get my meaning. I also enjoy you as well and your opinion is meaningful. I hear I’ll likely be seeing you soon…*wink.*

  3. Blazer said,

    The writing talent around the blogosphere was intimidating enough before you rode into town. Your poem is beautiful, almost as beautiful as your muse. I look forward to your future offerings.

    • androgynonamous said,

      Thank you, as always, for your kindness and support. I look forward to your continued reading! [BTW: yes; my muse is beautiful, indeed. It is no wonder I become so inspired.] Have a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

