What I Believe: The Spirit of Things

September 20, 2010 at 9:55 pm (The Spirit of Things)

I have been playing around lately with certain themes and topics, and with the idea of using them as journaling tools—such as “Who I Am” in the Walking Between Worlds category. This is the first of the “What I Believe” topic. Clearly, there will be more entries. This is a list of the things that came to mind in this sitting with the topic. As always, I hope you enjoy it. If not, that is fine too—at the least, I enjoyed it.

I believe that being known for being kind, fair-minded, and caring is the best legacy I can leave. And I hope I am able to do so.
I believe that the following things [to name only a few] are evidence of an intelligent and benevolent universe: the sound of saccades and crickets; the sight of black-capped chickadees at the bird feeders; the taste of fresh peaches; the tart snap of a chilled, crisp Granny Smith apple; the appearance of an orange-pink sunrise; Chopin played on a lone piano; the feel of a woman’s soft nipple against calloused skin and the gentle hardening caused by the contrast; an evening fire in the barely-cool night air and the smell of smoke and fresh dew.
I believe in the One-God which is so vast, so complete, so omni-everything as to be All-Gods: the One-God so ever-and-all-present and incomprehensible that it takes a many-cultured, many-named, multi-conceptualized view for us to even begin to grasp a small understanding of any aspect of It; the One-God whose names and faces are many so that all races, cultures and individuals might be given a point of departure for meeting Her/Him/It wherever they are. I believe in the panentheistic nature of God: God in all things; all things in God. I believe in God at the level of molecules, order and chaos…at the core of all things seen and unseen. I believe in a God so beyond us—and yet, so present, so much a part of us and our world—that It can never fully be named or fully known…much in the same way that we experience air but do not fully know it, experience our skin but do not fully know it.

I believe in the sweet spot on a golf club and a ball bat. And, that hitting it is a feeling that is good and satisfactory to the whole self. [If, that is, one likes golf or baseball.]

I believe in the creative spirit of human beings. I believe that it is this that will save us from our own tendency toward self-importance—it is the one thing that binds us and communicates universally without need for suffering or tragedy as a catalyst.
I believe in the laughter of children.
I believe in a good game of gin rummy.

I believe that there few things as peaceful as sitting on the screened in porch with a cup of strong, robust coffee, my dog at my feet, and my lover’s bright intelligent conversation bringing the day to a long-awaited close.

I believe in monogamy—that the ongoing sharing and cultivation of the natural ebbing and flowing of mutual love, admiration, and passion is the full expression of our selves as humans being and doing, that this continuation of connection in right relationship actually grows us, increases our ability to actualize ourselves, love ourselves, our lover, and others, and teaches us about love, ourselves, our patterns of being and makes us, generally, better people. Many disagree. I believe they have the right to their opinions about this and anything else. I believe, however, that it is in making choices, committing to a thing, and putting ourselves behind that commitment that we become more than we are otherwise. I believe this is true for relationships, personal endeavors and just about everything.

I believe that facing our fears, walking through them, and making it to the other side teaches us, increases us, and often teaches others as well. In any case, it makes us stronger. I believe that embracing our joys, looking for the happiness in every day life, actually creates happiness—we get what we seek—and that, too, increases us.

I believe that every act of becoming is good, that we were fearfully and wonderfully made and we deserve our own trust, love and respect. That people teach us how to treat them and, conversely, they treat us as we treat ourselves as much or more than they will treat us as we treat others.

I do believe in rock and roll, that music saves our mortal souls, and I can teach you how to dance real slow…

NOTE: This work is published here as proprietary and may not be reproduced, distributed, sold, or otherwise utilized outside the posting on this site without the express permission of the author; these works are the sole property of the author writing as Androgynonamous or DreadPirateRobert.

7 Comments

  1. Jolie said,

    This reminds me of my favorite NPR project ever: This I Believe. If you haven’t heard it, you should check it out. It was actually, if I remember correctly, a revival of a project started by Edward R. Murrow? I could be wrong about that part.

    Anyway, your writing is lovely as always, and I have a sneaking suspicion you’d like the NPR project, too. I actually wrote my own post about it once.

    Thanks for the food for thought!

    • androgynonamous said,

      Jolie–thanks for the heads up about the NPR project. I used to listen years ago when I had time…usually, at work while I did things like performance outcome reports, quality improvement goals and directives, and other such tedious crap. I need to get back into the habit. It was soothing and thought provoking. That is was a Murrow thing would not surprise me at all. Thank you for the kind words about my writing–you are gracious and generous. Take care. “Hi” to Rhett. And have a good week!

  2. Scintillectual said,

    I believe in you. I believe in us. I believe that there is no one truth but many and I believe in love.

    I love the way you wrote this and I love all of the wonderful things you wrote about. I love that you have the courage of your convictions and the strength of your beliefs.

    …and…I believe in long, slow, deep, wet kisses that last three days.

    Shit. You turn me on. Maybe I’d better come back to bed.

    Scin.

    • androgynonamous said,

      Sweetheart, I knew that you would catch the “sweet spot” reference and, likely, go to the long, slow wet kisses–that last three days. I also believe in such kisses as you know. And, shit; you turn me on as well. I also believe in you…more than you realize at times. I believe in us. And, I believe deeply in the universal truth of many truths. But you know all of that; you know me better than anyone. And, I believe–again–in love. Glad you came back to bed…hope to see you there later.

  3. Femme Fairy Godmother said,

    I believe we can fly, I believe we can touch the sky … oh,okay, fine. Sorry for the momentary lapse into cheesy pop music.

    I’m re-figuring out what I believe. In terms of religion. Unity, the church I’ve been going to for 11 years but am sorta thinking of leaving – teaches that Jesus was both fully human and fully divine, but so are you and I. For whatever reason, Jesus was able to access his connection to the Creator in a way that the rest of us can’t. I do believe that, which doesn’t necessarily mesh well with the Episcopal Church to which I’m pretty sure I’m going to return. I’ll figure it all out, I suppose.

    Great post, as always, DPR. 🙂

    • androgynonamous said,

      FFG, thanks so much for your input and your appreciation of this piece. Prior to St. Augustine’s creation of the doctrine of Original Sin–it did not exist in Jewish teaching, or other religious views for that matter–the spiritual trends in Christianity were more in line with the idea that Jesus’ coming as a human was, in fact, a demonstration of the divinity of humans. Joan Chittister talks about the fact that Jesus was fully divine, fully human and that this fact demonstrates the mind of God–the essence of God–exists in humans. Our problem is we do not grasp this and put it into action. Mystic Jews referred to it as the Divine Spark. Chittister says that “everyday we are meant to make the human more divine.” Christ is credited with actually saying: You are gods and shall do even greater works than I. What impedes us, in most theological views, is our over-emphasis on our corpreal existance as separate from God, thus we do not grasp the divine potential within and therefore, do not access our true selves. It comes down to a faith thing. Seems, really, most things do. Anyhow–lest I prattle on about theology–I believe in the human-ness of the Christ [the Anointed One] and the divinity of Jesus as a message about the nature of humans, the nature of our position and potential as children of God, as part of God–that the whole point was to awaken in us our recognition of God in all things, all things in God. We are, indeed, as we are told, a Royal Priesthood…all of us, regardless of the “temple.” The Church–as institution–is political and had many agendas. In the process, our inheritance of the more original views of Christianity–and thus, all other religions–was lost. That teaching is actually in Episcopal theology, but it is imbedded, ancient, and hard to locate in our modern times. Shame really. So, all of this is to say that what you believe is actually ancient spiritual wisdom and is completely consistent with early church doctrine.
      By the way, I believe we can fly; I believe we can touch the sky as well…! I will be looking forward to more discussions such as these, should you wish to have them. Thanks for reading. Catch up with you soon, I hope. Peace…

  4. jomoreau said,

    Awesome. I’ve never before read anything that so powerfully articulates these understandings. Kudos.

Leave a Reply

